The Senate of the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan has adopted the Law “On ratification of the Agreement between Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan on demarcation of the Kazakh-Turkmen state border”.

“The main goal of the Agreement is the international legal consolidation of the demarcated line of the state border between Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan. As a result of demarcation, the length of the Kazakh-Turkmen state border is 458.3 kilometers. There are 330 border signs along the state border line. The state border and the location of border signs are reflected in the following annexes to the Agreement: the Protocol describing the passage of the state border line; Map of the state border; The Protocol on Border Signs; Catalog of coordinates and elevations of boundary marks,” - the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan Kairat Abdrakhmanov said, speaking at Senate session.

According to him, in order to maintain the proper state of the state border line after the entry into force of the Agreement, it is envisaged to conduct a joint check of the border line once every 10 years. No changes in the terrain entail changes in the state border line. The Agreement is not subject to denunciation.

“Ratification and entry into force will help define the state territory and spatial limits of national sovereignty, complete the process of international legal registration of the Kazakh-Turkmen state border, eliminate possible preconditions for the emergence of territorial disputes,” – the Minister explained.

The demarcation of the Kazakh-Turkmen border was carried out in accordance with the Treaty between the Republic of Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan on the delimitation and demarcation of the Kazakh-Turkmen border of July 5, 2001. This Agreement was ratified by the Law of July 2, 2003 and entered into force on August 31, 2006. The Agreement on demarcation was signed on April 18, 2017 in Astana by the Heads of the two States.


Published: 28 December 2017



Blogs of government agencies executives